Showing posts with label walking. Show all posts
Showing posts with label walking. Show all posts

Monday, February 12, 2018

Busy life always


*233*


    If you are reading this before Valentines Day 2018, get thee to the local Rite Aid (if you have one). They have a long white box of Russel Stover Chocolates (1lb 10oz) for only $9.99. That is like two chocolate hearts in one! We always have a box of chocolate for the family. I almost wasnt going to buy it this year but then my traditional heart won out. So I ate chocolate and I spent money. I think I have a major soft spot for V day because Kid #1`s birthday is right afterward. We will be celebrating her day on Friday this year because she has plans on her actual day. I really need to get off my ass and look up a vegan cheesecake recipe. (writing down to add to my list.

Health Schmealth
  I was just off the phone with the hospital. They were asking me the barrage of bodily questions for my boob MRI next Monday. Do you have metal in your body? No. Do you have a pace maker? No. Etc etc. This is my 6 month scan. I have to do blood work this week for it because they will be doing an IV contrast. Can you all do me a favor? Can you send out good vibes for me? I am going to be having an MRI and a Mammo done on the same day. Let`s hope the find NOTHING. Absolutely nothing. My boobs just disappeared. I stopped taking the Methotrexate. The stomach pain which I think was an impending ulceration has subsided. It is still there but much much less. I think if I continued to take it, I would have had to take medication to treat it. I had to cancel my upper endoscopy. Hubby does not have PTO like he used to and we cannot afford to have him lose a day of work. I do not have anyone else to drive me (they all have to work every day too) and the place where I was going to have it done is way too far away to take an Uber. Yes, money over health. I never had to do that before. But I can not have that hit to the budget.  I am feeling better. But now the psoriasis and the back pain are creeping back. I wonder if I will be able to take anything at all.  We shall see.

Good job vibes

  Last Friday, I went to an early morning meeting at the local Easter Seals. It was a Business Advisory Committee meeting. I was the only job seeker (the other person cancelled). It was a meeting of sorts that had nothing to do with me at first. It was made up of my job counselor , her boss, and three women who work in HR in different companies. I was given good advice about my resume. And I was given an opportunity. I was offered to work for a large company that has a local headquarters. It would be a paid internship. I would get paid through Bureau of Rehab and the company would teach me all that I need to know about admin work. They would get an extra set of hands that they would not have to pay for. It would be full time and the internship will last for 6 months. There is no guarantee of being hired unless there is an opening and they want you. But the work can go on my resume and I will learn shit. And I can say that I really know this shit. This is exciting. I should know more this week.
 Yesterday, I sat with my coffee and re-did my resume. The issue with mine was that it was a skills based resume. There were no dates. They all said that they do not pay attention to those types of resumes. I told them that it has been 15 years since I officially worked. I figured most places would look at that and hire someone younger. Oh, they all said NO in unison. They would rather hire someone older because of the stability and drama free. They all agreed that my past years of volunteering should go to the top of my resume, job experience after. That is what I did. I sent it off to my job person so she can tweek it. There were some Word stuff that I could not figure out even after I googled them. Like how do you make a half space? I did what Google told me to do and it cut the words in half instead. It will take me some time to figure that kind of shit out.

Rain Rain Go Away


   I should be thankful it is just rain and not snow. I am completely dressed to take a walk. Sneakers are on. I was ready to go. Then the rain started. It is a sprinkle but I do not want to chance it. All I need to do is go out in that and make myself susceptible to the effin Flu. Accuweather SAYS the sun is supposed to come out. So far, I see no sun. I see clouds, dreary, and rain drops on the patio. Kid #2 and I took at walk at the beach last week. It was good. My stomach didn't protest too much. This past week has been so busy that I havent had time to think of the aches and pains. I helped her declutter her room. She was feeling low and it showed in her housekeeping. A cleaner bedroom always helps to lift your spirits a little bit.  Then I bottled up our first successful batch of Kombucha. We were gifted with one baby each from the two mothers. I have to start a new batch today for fermenting. It will get to the point where I will have to start giving scobys (that is what you call the Mother) away. Either that or throw them away. Someone suggesting composting. <---more on that later.  Mondays are always kind of busy for me. Lately I could probably say that about every day. I always wish for a lazy day but that day never comes. I guess I probably had enough lazy being so sick for all those years that my head had decided I am making up for time. Granted, I am not a healthy person by any means. I know that. I am not trying to fool myself. But I am better then I used to be. I have gained more energy with my years. I am taking full advantage until it is snatched away from me later on in life.  So I have dishes soaking in the sink and it looks like the rain has stopped. I will take that walk after this and do some much needed housework. Always much needed when I  tend to be the only one that does it.

City Garbage Stinks

  Our mayor has decided that when grant money is waved in front of his nose, he needs to use it. He is proposing a pay per bag system for our city. 60 cents per kitchen sized bag and $1 per big ass bag. They think that people will recycle more because of this. Ummm. No. This is a city. Small but a city nonetheless. There will be trash dumped everywhere. We will have rats and stink as far as the eye can see. There are people in this city that cannot even be bothered to get their drivers license and insurance. What makes them think people will recycle if they never have? Or people who are living in utter poverty..They are not going to spend $20 for a box of garbage bags. And of course, our taxes are not going to go down at all. This is like double taxation if you ask me.
 I recycle like a Motherfucker. Most people have one of those square recycle boxes. I have four. The garbage guys gifted me that many cause they know that I am a recycle queen. But even with all that recycling, we still have a full garbage bin every week. If I had to pay $1 a bag...that could be $3 a week. Sometimes more during the holiday season. I do not want to spend that on garbage bags. I have always toyed with the idea of composting. Buying one of those things that you spin to compost. I never bought one because I never figured I would need it. Yeah. I think we need it. You see, this is not just a proposal. They have the grant money and they aim to spend it. So this is going to happen. They do not care what any of the residents think. They will not put it up for a vote. They will say it is so and there is nothing we can do about it. 
  I would want to get one of these small gallon compost bins for the counter in the kitchen. I have a friend that uses one.  Then I want one of the tumbler bins. You can spin it to mix the compost. Something like this or maybe this. But I will shop around. I know nothing of these things so I really have to do my research. I know that I could just make a pile in the yard for free but I do not want to deal with raccoons and pissing off the neighbors from the stink. This is a better solution for me. Maybe I will find one that someone is giving away on Craiglist.


 That is it for this week. The dog is bugging me to go out and I should really get that walk in while the dishes are soaking. I hope you have a great week and do not eat too much chocolate!! (I am saying that to myself!)



Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Living that plant life



*233*

     Last week, I purchased foil dryer vent tubing to replace the old shit we had downstairs. Whilst I was working on getting that attached, I realized that when the new furnace was put in...there is no room for the dryer and washer to leave when they die! We are going to have to break through the wall behind it and reconfigure shit. Not that bad since all the stuff is right there just have to turn shit around. But still. Fuckers! Plus, I was not successful getting the hosing attached because I am too short for the vent window and I am a quitter. Hubs attached everything for me, thank goodness.
 I did not need all that was bought so I returned said things back to Home Depot. That is when I spied this little girl (i just watered her.) She is a grafted Ruby Ball cactus. I paid $4.95 for her. I have done very well with cacti and some succulents so this is a good plant to add to the menagerie.

I do not like my new Gastro

   I said I was not going to talk about health so this will be brief. I am dealing with some gut issues. I saw the gastro yesterday (I miss my old gastro mucho) and after some talk it was decided that she is going to do an upper endoscopy on me on the 16th. Yay! I get to wait with 11 more days of pain and wonder. To be perfectly honest, I think I need a colonoscopy. It is a colon issue most definitely but she is the one with the degree. That sounds snarky, yes? See. The gastro that retired (she took over his office), he had been around for all my gut issues so when I would show up sick and in pain..he listened and he did what had to be done. This feels like I may end up in the ER at some point because she chooses to use the soft approach to things. I am going to probably have to look for another stomach dr at some point. We shall see. She actually asked me if I was depressed. Yes bitch, I have depression but I am not going to tell you that because you will not treat me. You will tell me to see my therapist for *warning! gross* pencil thin stools. Google pencil thin stools with stomach pain, gas, bloating, and nausea. I am thinking it is probably a polyp that has gotten large and needs to be taken out. But we will do an upper endoscopy cause she wants to look at my stomach. <---this is all the reason why I did not post yesterday. Kinda livid after that appointment

 Okay, enough of that. Food is a better subject

  No new pressure cooker yet but I did some research and I will probably be getting an Instant Pot this time. My gifter was waiting to get the money back from Amazon before she ordered me a new one. I have been dying to cook in it. Dying. Like I have no idea what I am going to cook today. I have to cook on the stove or in the oven. I would rather throw shit in the pot and forget it. I will not talk about that or the recipes that I want to try until I get my new one.  As for cooking, I am planning on making some chocolate covered coconut bon bons for Valentines day. I am also going to look up how to make like chocolate truffles cause Kid #2 does not like coconut. This and This link of recipes look good. I will do some more searching to find the right one.  Kid #1s birthday is coming up soon and I have to plan for that too. She does not eat cheese and limited dairy. We were thinking I could make a vegan cheese cake. I really need to sit down and look through our raw cookbooks. We have a couple of Ani Phyo`s cookbooks. They are good to have on hand when you are in the mood for a nice fresh meal. We have Ani`s Raw Food Kitchen and Ani`s Raw Food Essentials. I might cook dinner for her birthday also but I need to discuss with her what she would like to have.  Money is not what it used to be plus we are in the thick of snow season. Best to have a nice in home back up plan just in case of blizzard.

Walking for yer health

  I admit that I have not walked for a week but I will give you my valid reasons. I wanted to but my body said no. First it was because of the methotrexate, I think. I was having some major nerve pain in my foot, leg, and hip all last week. Like the kind that feels like cattle prod shocks. I was thinking I busted a cervical because I was having shocks in my arms too. Then I noticed I had pins and needles in my face. I realized that it was the dang pill. My psoriasis is disappearing but I adopted some gnarly pain instead. I am not really noticing any of my joint or back pain getting better but I digress. The weird nerve pain has subsided so I think it is just a side effect of the pill.  I did not take the pill yesterday because of my gut issues. I was told to stop it whenever I am sick.  So between the shocks and my gut, walking is not on my immediate horizon. I will try again in a couple days. Even if I can get a mile in, that will be better then nothing at all. Right? Like right now, My head feels like she wants to take a walk. But my gut is like *Bitch, you know better*.  I am still losing weight so I am moving in the right direction.

Bits and bobs

The stone mason is outside fixing a crumbling step as I type. It cost $50 so far. I wonder how much he is going to come at me for the rest. It best not be more then $100 or I will lose my shit.
 I have a dress and a shirt to do some sewing too.
I have a job interview for a job I probably do not want on Thursday. I will probably just go for the interview for the experience. I have a couple jobs that I have applied for floating out there that I really want. I think this one was one that my job coach applied for me in the beginning of our search. It is part time. I am looking for 32 hours or more. Working for 10 hours a week is a waste of my time when I need money. If I already had a job and this was a nice little filler job, that is different. I am not feeling it at all but I will show up and interview because they will be interviewing a bunch of people that day. Good interviewing learning experience
The kitchen is a disaster. When is it not? So I have to pick my ass up, take my medicine, and start dealing with that shit.

 I am sorry this mostly a negative post but my gut is sick. I am not in a good place to spread positivity. I mean, the cactus is positive. You can just read that paragraph over and over. :)
 I hope you have a great week. I hope we do not get a buttload of snow (maybe a little tomorrow) and I hope that I can get out there and walk!

Ta Ta for Now!


 

Monday, January 29, 2018

Boobs a-hoy


*233* <---so says the scale at the oncology dept and the vet scale (yes) at the kid`s job

  We will see how long this post will be. I just took my week Methotrexate for the PA and it can give you diarrhea and tummy upset. For me, it lasts about an hour or so. Not an all day affair. But every week can be a different saga. I am going to type and eat my antipasto salad while I wait for the pills to work their way through my gastrointestinals.

  The oncology appointment went well. She thinks my breast pain is hormonal. She did feel the ridge in my breast that was not there before. Probably just more denseness. But I am going to be having a MRI and Mammo of my boobs in February so if there is anything, they will see it and we will work accordingly. From here on out, I will have to be vigilant with my boobage. It sucks but it is a part of many women`s lives. I see the boob surgeon in February also. We will have a good round out of talking about my past surgery and how I am doing.

  So, my pressure cooker shit the bed. Something happened to the steam release button on the lid and it would not get up to pressure. Since my friend bought it on Amazon, it had to be returned back to Amazon. I do not know if I am getting another one. I am not asking about it. If I get one, I do. If I do not, it was fun while it lasted. That means no new recipes to share this week. But if you have a pressure cooker and would like to do some Indian Cooking, try this place called Two Sleevers. Tried and true recipes that are really goooooood. You will never need to go to an Indian restaurant again because you can make it all at home. You just have to acquire all the spices. Which shouldnt be so hard for  many of us. You either have an Indian grocery store (which I have) or you can shop online for what you need. 

  I am starting to feel the pill giving me an issue but so far, so good.

  I have been walking almost every day. There has been a bit of rain here in the Northeast so on those days I did not walk. With the flu season in full swing, I do not want to invite something I do not need. I did have a flu shot but you never know. I will walk later today after the pill has moved out of my system. One of my goals is to conquer our hill. Very steep hill in my neighborhood. My goal is to walk to the bottom, walk to the top, walk to the bottom, walk to the top until I do not feel like I may pass out.  Not really that hard but I want to utilize the hill for what it can give my stomach, hips, legs, and butt. Who needs to pay for a gym when you live in hilly New England?

  I had a job phone interview on Friday. It went well. The person said they will be calling people end of this week to set up in person interviews. I am staying positive and I am not going to be negative. But I am also being realistic. There are alot of people out there looking for work, especially office work. I just keep plugging along with my resumes and cover letters. One day something good will stick. My job is out there. I am going to a Business Advisory Council in February. Hopefully the people that will be there from HR departments will have some ideas on what I should do and whether they know of any places doing internships. I have to utilize all the tricks in my bag to try to land a job.

  I have a mega mess in the kitchen to clean. I am in my leggings, t-shirt, and sneakers. Dressed for walking but going to battle the dirty dishes. Today is Hubs birthday and I am going to try to cook something. We had dinner out last night but tonight is all about being inside and maybe playing a board game.

That is it. Pill is kicking in. If anything pops up, I will post again this week. If not, see you on Monday.


 
 

Thursday, January 18, 2018

May 1, 2018

*238*


     103 days from today till May 1, 2018.

   That is how much time I have to lose at least 10lbs and lower my A1c to a normal level. I had been lollygagging about this for two months. I shake my head at myself. Yes, this is an unscheduled blog post. I had to talk about it to you to just get it out there in the universe.

  Since December, I did lose the 10lbs that I gained but I need to lose at LEAST 10lbs more. I will tell you why.  When I saw my Endo last time in December, we discussed how I had to change my eating seriously because of all the autoimmune stuff going on. He gave me till my next appointment to lose at least 10lbs and show a vast improvement in my blood sugars. He wants to be shocked. He even noted it in my file. If I did not show any improvement, I would have to agree to raising my insulin levels. Now. If anyone has been paying attention, if I raise my insulin levels, I will gain more weight for sure. At that appointment, I weight 250 something. Right now I weigh 236-237-238. I have lost 10lbs but my A1c will show I have still be eating shittily. Why am I talking about this now? I looked on the calendar yesterday and saw that I had my appt with him on February 12! That is not enough time to change more. So I called to change it. Unfortunately, they are a very popular office. They said I would have to wait till May 1st for my next appointment. I jumped at it! I am just prolonging my 3 month diabetes check. I go to them religiously. So for me to extend it beyond this time, is not a bad thing. If anything came up between now and then, they would bring me in on a sick check.

  This is my declaration to myself.  Girl, you need to do all that have learned. Now is the time. Get off your ass and DO IT!

1 Walk every morning with a few exceptions. Temps in the single digits, icy or snowing, big rain storms, and temps above 85 and humidity. The last ones I can walk at the Mall.

2. Eat 20g or less of carbohydrates a day. Eat high fat and moderate protein.

3. Take your supplements. All of them. Not just the Vit D and B-12.

4. Drink more water.

5. If I am hungry, eat more fat.

6. Stick with it. You quit smoking for Christ`s Sake. You can quit carbs and sugar!

I am also going to follow the Histamine protocol for my autoimmunes but I am not going to stress myself over it. I already know that wheat is a major issue. Since I have basically cut it out of my life except for a couple slips..my psoriasis has been clearing up.

Now. You may have seen the picture in my IG with me holding Keiko. I am able to wear a size 16 very well. Some of them are actually too loose. But I am not ready for size 14 yet. But I still look like a fatty mcbutter pants. That is because I am 5`4'. I am supposed to be in the lower 100s. We all know that will probably never happen. Plus, I would suffer greatly with all the excess skin. But I am not going to think about that right now.
I need to walk in the mornings because right now, that is where my energy lies. That window has passed today. The weather for tomorrow is mostly sunny the high will be 35 deg F but it will be colder in the morning. That is okay weather. Tomorrow I am going to put on my leggings and my sneakers and I am going to walk to 2 miles up the hill and around.

  I am going to be dealing with mega Keto Flu. We have Christmas chocolate that was bought at 75% off. I have to use all my resolve in life to stay away. STAY AWAY! I can do this. See, the more fat adapted you become, the less you want all that stuff you stopped eating. I just have to get over that hump....again.

  Time to get moving. I have to drive people places because I am the family chauffeur. and I have to decide what is for dinner. Something in the Gowise pot for sure. Just do not know what yet.  Have a good rest of your week and I will be back!

Monday, January 8, 2018

Praise! It is 30 deg F!

*230-something* <---i have not stepped on a scale in a week or two so I really do not know. 


      We survived the Bombogenesis. Our little neck of CT received a generously heaping spoonful of snow. It was about a foot with nice snow drifts. The temps have been rock bottom too. Not been fun for my skin, I can tell you right now. I have been coconut oiling myself every day to combat the psoriasis and the old lady crepe from the heat being on constantly. Today is going to be in the 30s and by the middle of the week it will be close to 50. Be gone you evil snow.

   Today I have stuffs to do but I feel a little shitty so I will be going slowly while doing them. I think my head is a little fucked because of the barometer and we are supposed to get a little snow this evening. So if I can get out of my pjs, that will be a major accomplishment. One of the things we have to do today is our DNA. Hubs and I have two 23andme DNA kits aka the government has got your ass now kits. You have to not drink or eat anything for 30 minutes and then you spit in the tube and send them off. We get to see where we came from. I have always known that I am Polish, Italian, Swedish, and Norwegian. Now could my Polish grandmother have had some Jewish ancestry that we do not know about? I guess I will find that out in a few weeks. The girls at first were a little miffed because they did not get kits. Why should you both get kits when you have the same DNA? We, as your parents, can do it and you will get the same answer. *eye roll* I will share those results when they come in.

  My lofty plans of walking have been curtailed by the weather. My plan is to get out there tomorrow morning if it is not icy from the storm and I feel okay in the head. I have been fairly active the past few months so it isnt that I have to start slow or anything. I just did not want to freeze my tookas off. See, I could go to the Mall to walk but then I end up shopping instead. I could get a gym membership but you all remember how I paid for two years and never went once. Walking the hills of my neighborhood is the safer bet for me. My house is way too small for any exercise equipment. We tried when we bought a cheapo elliptical at Salvation Army. It worked great and it was a folding one. That shit sat in the corner. Got unfolded a couple times. Sat next to the tv set, mocking me because I never used it or even dusted it.  I have a couple walking routes that I have used in the past. I just have to get dressed and do it.

  Yo. The pressure cooker is the best thing ever. Myself and #2 have made about 6-7 meals in it so far since Christmas. I went out to Target and bought a rack to put it on. It has it`s own area by the kitchen window with it`s own plug. No need to move it off and on the counters. We have very limited counter space. We have a galley kitchen. Only room for 1-2 butts at a time. Anyway...the pressure cooker is really good. I made fork tender pulled pork in 1 hour and 30 minutes. What! And it tasted like it was cooking for hours. We cooked chili, a few soups, pulled pork, a chicken dish, hamburger dish, and all were good. You can find many recipes online for using the electric pressure cooker. I still say, if you do not have one..beg borrow or plead to get one.

   I had a revelation last week after posting here. I am not doing AIP and Keto. When I try to eat that way, I do not eat at all. I practically starving and I am not being literal. It is so hard to keep your blood sugars low but also stick to the strict Auto immune way of eating. You just cannot do it. Unless you have unlimited grocery resources and/or you have someone to cook for you. I just couldnt do it.  I have decided and started to eat keto but I am not going to eat certain foods like nuts and peanuts. I will eliminate all nightshades except tomatoes because they are life. And I am going to eat limited dairy. Sometimes I need it in a pinch if I am hungry but I will not seek it out and especially in large amounts. Back on track. Keto for me is the smart solution to alot of my medical problems.

  I had a birthday. Saturday I turned 49 years old. It was a good day. Of course it was not keto complaint but that was my last food thing until October comes around again. Hoping I am thin as a reed and have a stronger constitution by the time it is Halloween. We have a couple more birthdays coming up but I can say no to cake. I had my slice...okay two slices. It was Red Velvet and I was not gonna say no. Someone that is way young was shocked when he saw my FB post about turning 49. He said WTF! I thought you were 32!
He either does not know how to determine someones age or he needs a new eyeglass prescription. But I will take the compliment as the best present ever.

  Okay. I need to get going. I have to be a taxi today and I have to get out of this feeling like crap mode. I hope you have a wonderful week and I will see you on the next.




Monday, April 25, 2016

Walking on the wild side




    Kid #2 and I have been walking for the past year. Not a whole lot because of my health but way more then ever before. We love to walk at the local arboretum at the college. It is not far from our home. We drive there now. This week I am going to surprise her. We are going to get some new sneakers. Good ones too. And maybe one day we can then walk to the arboretum, walk around, and then walk home. But we have to build up to it. That would be the ultimate!
I thought I would share some pics from our last walk. It was a gorgeous day. 
This is the pond. Not the very beginning of the walk but about 5 minutes in. We stopped to look at the turtles sunning on the rocks.
This is why my phone sucks and I ordered the iPhone. I couldn't zoom on the puddle ducks in front of us so they blurred out. They waddled back into the pond when they saw us. 
I have never been able to do the forest loop without wanting to die afterward. That day I felt good and we decided to DO IT.
Omg! Made me gulp. I hate heights. Long drop down.
Here is another perspective. I was less scared of this area for some strange reason.
Down and up and off the right and we will be almost done. 
This shot is the beginning (we start at that gravel path) and the end (we enter from the right of the picture). There is a nice wide stone bench to sit on, drink our water, and catch a breeze.  We usually do a 20 minute easy walk but this day we were out there for an hour. And I didn't die! Score!
  I have to research what kind of sneaks I should get. I tend to get plantar fasciitis so I need strong/hard soled shoes. 

There is a peek into one of my daily adventures. With the new phone, I will be able to document more. I wish I could be out there today. I will rest up so I can have more walking adventures with the kid. 







Wednesday, March 19, 2014

House of Miniature addiction?



*245*

  I love these little kits. They are from the 1970s-80s. They are not made anymore but so mass produced that you can find unopened kits for sale. I will never pay more than $20 for a kit. If it is super rare, than I guess I do not need to own it. I also bought a Hepplewhite Cellarette and a dumb waiter. I am saving them to use in my Pomeroy dollhouse. These kits will be cherry to build. They will look great in the house. I am actually excited about building again. Those of you that do not build dollhouses for pleasure would have to equate it to buying shoes or having another satisfying hobby. I have been on a hiatus since the banks crashed. I just did not have any extra to use. Geez. I was scared to spend $20 on something cause it could break my meager budget.  Life is not as hard as it was but it is still not easy. I can spend $20 or less here and there for goodies for the hobby that I love but abandoned.

   Last day of Winter today. I have been doing laundry plus puttering. The Man and I took another walk this morning. I want to build my stamina for when it gets warmer out. I want the walking to be an every day routine. If it is raining...I have not decided. I do not have raingear for that. We shall see. I know I will have to get a new pair of sneakers soon. You have to change them out every couple of months so you have stability.

 Gotta go...it is time to start getting dinner started. Tilapia, spanish rice, and asparagus..Yummy!

Monday, March 17, 2014

Saint Patrick`s Day 2014


*245*

  Happy St Paddy`s Day to you all. I hope you have a luscious meal and don't get too drunk on Car Bombs and Guinness.  I have two flat cut corned beefs in the crock pot. I am partly using this recipe.
 I am using the glaze part where it is put in the oven. In the slow cooker, I have added 2 cups of apple juice, half cup of Bragg`s apple cider vinegar, 1 cup brown sugar, and a few squirts of Dijon mustard. I am also going to make Southern cabbage and roasted potatoes. It is in no way a traditional SPD dinner but it will be good as hell!

 Taxes are done! I used Turbo tax. I was able to do the HSA paperwork on there, it cost me only $25 and we owe $21! That is wayyyy less then what H&R Block told us. I procrastinated that shit for a couple weeks cause I knew I would have to finagle that HSA form (legally) and pay a large amount of money. I just pulled the band-aid and did it. I feel good getting that out of the way.

 I have really been trying to make my life for the better. I have been so complacent lately with the food. I have been walking but I need to step up my game. I added Myfitnesspal back on my phone so that I can be more accountable to myself with my choices that effect my body. I started it again yesterday. I had to adjust the amount of calories, carbs, and sugars. 1500 calories a day is good for me. It is not too much or too little. After I finish this, I am going to change to go on a mile walk around the neighborhood. My headphones died so I will have to listen to nature instead.
 
Keeping up with saying no. I had a couple slip ups but otherwise I am doing well. I actually got some help around the house...unsolicited. You could have knocked me over with a feather. One day at a time!

Have a great start to your week...think warm Spring thoughts!

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Goodbye, sweet food of youth

Tomorrow is May Day
*263* <----official from the Dr`s office scale

 My A1C from the last time I was at the Dr office was 9. That is bad! Very bad. I had the blood test done again this morning so hopefully it will be much better.
 I have been bitching and moaning for so long about losing weight but never doing anything about it. After my appointment today, I realize that I have to so that I can live longer with less suffering.

 I am not going to worry about the exercising right now, as I have been told. He said the yard work that I am doing is good. Since my calf has been bothering me, I need to ease into exercise at first by upping my daily movement.
 Today for lunch, I had nothing because I am stupid and coffee was about it. For lunch (after appointment), I had a 3 egg omelet with onion, chorizo, and American cheese with a sliced tomato on the side. I am defrosting boneless chicken for dinner. I have no idea what I am going to do with it at all.
 I can feel the eyes rolling from a couple certain bitches out there. If you cannot be supportive, go stalk somebody else`s page, heifer.

  Going to eat small amounts of carbs, lots of fruits and veggies, meat and dairy are good. Eggs will save me! And lots of water and sugar free beverages. No pizzas, fries, chips, candy, cakes, ice cream...anything with sugar is a NO.  One of my friends added me to some group that is all about sharing ideas, exercises, and the like. I am just reading right now. I am not ready for any tear inducing Ab challenges. If I can take a daily walk without dying, I will be good.

This is all I am going to say about this today. I am letting it sink in. So far my sugars are in the normal range. I think that is how I will steer this. Normal sugars mean feeling better and not falling apart.

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Spring Cleaning in my coat

One of my maple trees..Spring Buds

*263*

It is flipping cold out there today!
  I have a busy Sunday ahead of me. I am going to do some yard work that will not kill me and I am going to take my first walk of the season with Fred this evening around 6pm. Sun will still be out but it will be nice.
  I took the dogs out as per usual this morning and I started to trim bushes in the yard that I had not done previously this year yet. Over the years I have forgotten names of things and it is embarrassing because i used to be so good at that. I have a lilac bush, a hydrangea, two azaleas, two rose of sharon (i have a couple babies growing in other places to fill in spots), and a large butterfly weed.
 I have really neglected my yard over the past couple years because I just have not felt very well. I have a lot of catching up to do. Today I am going to trim all the bushes except for the lilac and the azaleas. They both have to wait until after they have bloomed. I want to get some sort of order going in my life and that yard is the perfect place to start. Once we get the loan for the home improvements, I will be too busy on the inside to think about the outside. This year, I am going to plant some tomatoes and some herbs..definitely basil. Low key on the veggie growing this year because I will be busy. I do not want to neglect my plants anymore. So today I am going to change into some warm clothes and I am going to trim bushes and rake the rest of the crap in the front yard. I will have my trusty pain in the ass dog, Ruby by my side.
 Fred has been walking the bridge with his friend every Sunday. I am not ready for that much of a haul so we are going to start slow with our old mile walk in the neighborhood. Doing it in the evening and starting now before it gets hot. I want to be a bit conditioned before than. Let`s hope and pray that I do not fuck up my feet again!

I hope you have a nice Sunday and that it is full of sunshine and warm breezes.

Thursday, December 23, 2010

I promised pictures.

 
Top of first hill
I went walking this morning and it took a little bit over a half hour. Fred went with me and he decided to add something to the route, so it took a little longer and much more bitching on my part.
This first picture is the top of the hill I face every day since 1998. This is the hill that I spun completely around on in the car when it was covered in ice.

 
Beginning of the son of a bitch hill
This is the bottom of that hill I complain about. The thigh killer. Look as far as your eye can see all the way to the top near that tree cover...where you cannot see sidewalk anymore...See it? I have a continuation picture to that one.

That last telephone pole is Crescent Street
It is kind of a joke between Fred and I. The top of this hill is Crescent street. The Crest of the Fucker! This is about the area where I start really wheezing, bitching and moaning. And not in a good way. Oh Mama I hate this hill. I plan on being able to make it up there with no problems at all.

Motherfucker!
That first hill in the picture...remember that one? Well when my walk is ALMOST done, I have to face THAT hill but in reverse. This is NOT an optical illusion. I was standing at the bottom and staring up the hill and I took this picture. I took it in the beginning of our walk cause I was afraid I would be too asthmatic to do it later. That house at the top with the Christmas blow up lights their ENTIRE house at night..even the roof! It is pretty cool. I should take a picture to show you. I have to walk this hill to the point of that white house in the right corner..that is my street. The hill continues up up up and there are some college track kids that use it in their exercise.

There you have it. Now you know what the hell I am talking about and that I am not being over dramatic or a big ole baby. This hills are big, steep, and they kick my ass! LOL

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Christmas is coming.

*282*
11 more days till Christmas. I am done shopping. I am still making the bon bons but I mailed out the last two packages today. Yay! 

The scale has been going down down down. I have some great news to report! My foot is feeling great lately. I went and bought a new pair of slippers for around the house. These slippers have an arch. No mega pain at night anymore. I have not had to take any Advils. Yippee!
I am dealing with an issue with my right foot and it is kind of freaking me out. I have been squeezed in to see the Neurologist the week after Christmas. When I walk up stairs lately, my right foot/heel will make it feel like the ground beneath me is moving. Not my left foot at all. Just the right. It happened very infrequently for me to think anything of it at first. I figured it was part of my numb foot from the back surgery. Now it is happening more frequently but not all the time that I walk up the stairs. I want to get checked out just to be safe. Because a couple times I felt like if I did not have the railing, I would have fallen backward on the steps..and this is from the top of the staircase. It is not my head so it is not vertigo. It is my foot. So I will keep you all informed on that...
Chelsea has been cooking me up this healthy smoothie to help with my sick gut and headaches (i have a virus). It is THE nastiest thing on the face of this earth..Ugh. It is army green in color and contains raw garlic and raw ginger..among other things. I had to choke that shit down. Blech!
But...a few hours of burping and repeating later and my stomach felt good. Really good. So she is supposed to make me another glass of it today. We will see how it goes.
It is as cold as hell out there today. Not as cold as the Midwest but it is still cold. I am going to need some better gloves if I want to walk outside. And I am going to be walking outside now that my feet are better. I cannot wait! I loved those long walks at a brisk pace..the cold air biting your cheeks, you can see your breath as you huff huff huff along your trail. It is the best. I am not saying that as bullshit. I loved it and I miss it. Walking on the treadmill is NOT the same thing. I like bitching to Fred as I force my fat ass up that hill..Motherfucker!!! I can do it!!!!
 I think I might do it tomorrow but I have to see. I still have a few more tins of chocolates to make and I want to get that DONE first before I start moving on to something else.

I will post pics on whether I have or not.

Monday, December 6, 2010

It is gonna snow!

*284*
There are going to be some snow showers today. Not a significant amount but enough to make me want to break out the hot cocoa supplies. I like snow and I hate snow. First snows are cool. First major amount of snow is cool (if you don't have to go anywhere) but after that it becomes annoying. I only live in New England. We get it but not like the Midwest does. I feel for you all immensely. Especially the brutal cold and the frozen pipes! Yuck!
 Natalie and I are off to the gym today after school. I want to sweat my ass off today. I deserve it for my laziness. I have some good news to report. My foot is actually doing better. I think that is why I have been dragging my literal foot about all of this. There is nothing worse then hopping on one foot to go potty at 10pm at night because your foot is hurting so badly. Lately not so much. It hurts but no hopping and some nights it does not hurt that much at all. So today I am going to walk my ass off on the treadmill. Walk walk walk. I could walk outside (which is better) but she wont do it..it is boring. Boring? We have each other, we can chat, and we are outside. Not like staring at a sweaty dude in front of you at the gym..oh no that is not boring..LOL
Last night I made a nice dinner. Tilapia, 1/2 cup Jasmine rice, and a big tossed salad. I used 2 tablespoons of blue cheese dressing (it was the last of it). I did not have any of the Italian bread. I did not need a snack afterward.
Oh..I almost forgot. I have gum stashed all over the house now. You know those round plastic cup holder containers of gum that are sold in the candy aisle? I have one in my car for when I am feeling the need for a ciggy or I am just anxious or I have kickass breath. I decided I was going to have a couple in the house also. That way when I am in the mood to eat, I just chew the gum. 5 calories for 2 pieces of gum. Not bad.
 I need to get off this idiot box this morning. I have another batch of Peanut butter buckeyes to make. I sent out a bunch and gave to others. I have a couple more boxes to mail out on Wednesday so I need to get moving on this.
Have a good Monday!

Sunday, November 28, 2010

I think that is the plan, man.

*284* Fuck!

It is Sunday morning. 11:00am EST. It is a bit nippy out there today in Old CT. I have gotten it into my head that I am going to walk today. I have not been able to get anyone to go with me anymore so I have to FORCE myself to do it. I usually had Fred or Natalie to tell me to get off my ass. Get off your ass and lets go!!! Move it! Move it! Move it! They have abandoned me for greener pastures. Fred is working and Natalie is sleeping in (she is 17..it is in her nature). So I am going to pop a couple Advil in a moment...hell...I will do it now..brb.................................Okay. Two Advil liquigels down the hatch. I am not choosing to take those Advils forever. I know I have to be careful of my liver and kidneys when it comes to that stuff. But I will take it now until I drop a bit of weight so my feet can stand the exercise. I started this blog for a reason. I started it so that I could show some progress and I have gone up. That is not progress..LOL That is bullshit.
 I know I am not ready to walk the big hill..mile or two..it is too much for me right now. I will walk to the lazy mile around the block so that I can get my feet wet again. It will be good for my back also. I do not want to get another herniated disc. Dr told me that once you get one, you are prone to others. You have to strengthen the muscles that support your spine. The only way to really truly do that is walking, outside... not on a treadmill. So I am going to wait the 10-15 minutes for the pills to kick in and then I will go. I will take some pictures of my journey too.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

I am NOT going to the grocery store.

*282*

I binged a bit yesterday. Fred brought home chocolate cause we were all upset. We do not do drugs, drink, or smoke anymore. What is left? Chocolate. See, I said I was going to be honest about it. No biggie..I will move on.

 Today is the day before Un-Thanksgiving. Just another Thursday in our household. Yup. Paychecks come early this week so I will be off to the bank to do my do in an hour or two. I know I could do all my banking online, and I have a credit union so using the debit card will not cost me anything to purchase or get cash but I like the people. One of them has been hurt very badly in a car accident. Fred just found this out yesterday. I am going to go get her information so that I can send her a card or some flowers. I hope she will get well really quickly. I have a relationship with the tellers in my credit union...and I like that.
 Yesterday I peeled, chopped, washed, and dried a massive amount of collard greens. They filled my water bath canner. Those pots are huge! But greens are like spinach...they shrink down. I have Fred, me, A (her family), and D (and her family) to feed these to. I enjoy it. Next time, if they ask, I am gonna charge. It is not the supplies that cost so much, it is the labor. Now I know why you only got to eat this lovely and fattening vegetable a couple times a year.
   I am also planning on doing some baking today. I have phyllo dough, pie crusts, apples, and canned cherry pie filling. I am going to make a cherry pie (yummy!) and apple turnovers. I do not really like apple turnovers but I thought the family would. They do not want pumpkin pie, or pumpkin cheesecake at all. Nada! So I am just doing this on the fly a bit. I like doing that. You can do anything in baking as long as you follow certain rules. It is science. Certain components have to be specific like flour to baking soda to baking powder to salt ratios. Everything else you can kind of tinker with. I will have fun tinkering with the phylo dough today.
 I am thinking that since it is 8am, I have had my meds and coffee..I am going to get dressed, dress the dogs (LOL they need sweaters in the cold), and take them for a walk around the block. That will give me some exercise and also give them a longer route to enjoy. Natalie is sick so we are not going to the gym. Sore throat and headache. It is going around. Better stay the hell away from me! ROFL
If you are going to the grocery store today, God Bless and Safe travels!

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

One more day and counting...

Eugene O`Neill (1888-1953)
*283*
  I wanted to start off with an explanation of the title of my blog and that picture. That is not my house.
I wish! That is Monte Cristo, the childhood home of the American Playwright Eugene O`Neill. His play Long Days Journey into Night was based on things that happened in that house. You can read his biography online. The statue above is a model of him as a child. I have looked at that house while driving by probably a million times in my lifetime. My first ratty apartment was above the bar he used to get soused in, The Dutch. It seems weird but it is like I have a connection to him. Not because I am writing and I think I have a connection that way. My ideas are not that lofty..LOL No, I have always just been attracted to that house. Even as a child. So for some reason, this was what I named the blog. Everybody up to speed? Okay!
   Tomorrow is the start of my life changing. It is good that it is tomorrow because I got my period today. Heidi does NOT do any form of exercise on the first day of her period, PERIOD. hehehe This girl is counting down the days until menopause. I have had heavy periods all of my life, since the age of 11. I am so done! My Oldest wants me to try a Diva Cup but I am not going to go into that today. Maybe if I ever get one, I will discuss it. How about that? I mentioned chocolate yesterday, I bought some at the store when I went to get some supplies for dinner (Twix), and today is it. I do not get PMS, I get chocolatesss. If I get a craving for chocolate, you can start laying bets down that I will be searching for the Maxis  within 24 hours. Okay..Enough of this bloody mary crap.
  I am planning on taking a walk tomorrow morning. I like to walk in the mornings because I am not in  much pain yet and I have energy. I am going to walk the easy peasy lemon squeezy mile that we used to walk when I first started out after surgery. I am not ready for the hills. I will take a picture of those hills for you in the future so you will know what I am bitching about.  I would like Fred to walk with me but we will see how that goes. Sometimes he is too tired to do it (he works 2nd shift). The walk is good for a few reasons. It is in my neighborhood, it is mostly flat with a few easy slopes, it goes into areas with much traffic, and there is a killer part at the end so it makes me feel like I accomplished something. I wanted to share two more links with you today. They are places that I found when I started walking. The first one is LiveStrong. This site will give you lots of tips on exercise, food intake, and all around good health. The other site is Walkjogrun and it helped me so much. You can go on the upper right hand side of the screen to create your own route in your own city or town. I was able to know how far I was walking and I was able to map out walks by how far I wanted to go. It is a really good tool.
 Okay..Heidi just checked weather.com and it is going to rain all day today and in the morning tomorrow. I should have looked at that shit before I opened my mouth, huh? Rain ain`t a thing. I am not made of sugar so I will be fine.