Showing posts with label neurologist. Show all posts
Showing posts with label neurologist. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Menopause makes you hangry


*245*

Must stop eating! Cannot resist holiday sweets! 

 Okay...My internet was down for five days. There was issues with the company for two and I needed a new modem because mine is obsolete. The dude showed up Monday evening and all is right with the world. 
I finally got a call from the neuro and yesterday I was emailed the report. My brain is fine. There are no aneurysms or stenosis or any at all. The neuro said that I show no damage from IIH either so he is back on the * you dont have it* bandwagon. He said the bad news is we dont know what is wrong with you. He is sending me to a neuro ear doctor on Dec 4th. My surgeon is a neuro ear doctor. I am just going to look at this as a 2nd opinion. Maybe a fresh set of eyes will see something the others dont. I have been told by people on boards that my opening pressure with my spinal tap was not borderline. 26 is a high number. It isn't super high but enough to say that I DO have IIH. I am not taking the Diamox. It makes my chest hurt and I feel like I cant breath. I have to control this with diet and use the pills therapeutically.  I get a letter confirming my appt. It said it was from the Yale Stroke clinic. Freaked me out a tad. I think this neuro works in area. I cant dwell on that. That appt is the first Friday of December. 
  The contest voting ends on the 20th. A couple more days and I will find out if I am a finalist. Wish me luck! I really want the grand prize. 
  If it isnt nailed down, I am eating it. It has got to STAHP! I am eating lower sodium but carbs are calling this diabetics  name. I gotta add some fruit and veggies to my life. I refuse to gain the weight I lost cause of a lack of estrogen. I dont make excuses. I pick it up and eat it and I shouldnt. Stop it Heidi! Stop it!

  I have almost all of my Turkey day foods. We are havi
ng a turkey! I decided and that is that. I have to pick up my free ham that I will use for Christmas. You spend $400 in groceries during a certain time and you get a freebie as in turkey or ham or chicken or vegetarian lasagna. They used to offer a tofurky but they arent this year. Damn! I was really looking forward to it.  *lol* We will do a marinade on the bird the day before. My mom`s sausage stuffing. Broccoli casserole. And twice baked potatoes. We need a veggie platter too.
This grocery shoppi
ng trip will be all about the veggies. Mmm! I lurv Turkey Day!

 ummmm.  Oh. All the junk is gone from the patio and side of house. Blessed be! I hated looking and smelling it. The next project is painting the livingroom. The kid is gonna help. Yes.


So that is all with my saga filled life so far. Looks like fun, huh? 
  

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Still waiting for results


*241*

  I am still waiting to hear from the neuro. Probably today and I will update. I am also getting rid of a Malware on this dinosaur lappy. So I will go, fix that and come back when I have news. Damn Dell from Hell. I gotta get a cheap Chromebook at some point.

Thursday, December 30, 2010

That is not what I expected.

*290*
I am sort of confused. Maybe a little bit baffled. And most definitely slightly pissed. This Neurologist told me that he had never ever had anyone come to him with my problem. That he did not know what it was and he could not help me. My Neuro tests that he did in the office were perfectly fine. Thank you for your co-pay and have a nice day!
Okay..so I guess I have to fall down the stairs backwards for this to BE something. I have an appointment next month with my GP. He will know what to tell me. I do not want to bother my neurosurgeon if it is NOT neurological. But I have had a strike two with this fucking office. The worst part is, that is the ONLY neuro office in my area. I cannot go to the one in the next town cause my insurance will be a bitch about it. Ugh!
Maybe my feet are screaming and straining from my heaftiness. At least he did not tell me  it was cause of my weight. But it was a nothing visit. He did not offer any help, direction, or a lollipop!
I guess I will just ignore it for now. I do that with many things. When you have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, you get all kinds of weirdness going on. Like for the past 2 days I have been cold. Now it IS winter..but the house has been warm. And this thermometer says it is 68 deg F in here with the portable heater/blower going. But my hands are ice cold. I am a freak..LOL And not in a good way.
  Maybe I have a new skill of being able to feel earthquakes in other countries with just my right foot! Imagine all the money I could make! I would be a rich bitch.

 So yeah, that is why I did not say anything about it yesterday. I did not want to go on a long assed rant so I let it simmer for a bit and now I am just over it.
I am supposed to go to the gym today with Chelsea but she is not up yet. I will wait till 11am and if she does not show up downstairs..I am gone.

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Another year under the table

My Neighbor Dec. 2010
*290*
I walked the dogs last night a little later then usual so I could take this picture. I am pretty sure he will be shutting it down soon. This picture does not do this house justice. He has the entire house covered in lights, including the roof. The yard is full of blow ups and plastic mold ornaments. He even has a plastic mold snowman on the roof. I would LOVE to see his CL&P bill. Connecticut is one of the highest states in terms of electric rates. When I get a light bill that is under $150 a month, I am shocked. Granted, there is basically always someone home in my house. So there is always something running. But that is how life is. I do not have fancy fripperies but I can pay my whopping electricity bill. I guess when we are ready to get out of CT, we can take our CT money with us and live high on the hog. I hear it is sooo much cheaper in other areas.
Anyway.
I had a hissy fit at the gym yesterday because of the 290. I am okay now but I am more determined then anything. Natalie and I danced some of the songs on the Just Dance last night. My feet started screaming so I had to end it for myself but it was fun. There is a sweat mode. You can choose 1 (mild workout), 3 (moderate workout), or 6 (intense workout) songs to dance to. You pick them and then the game plays them for you in that order. There is even a warm up part. I want to do more of that. The gym and the dancing will make up for the icy sidewalk days of not being able to go out for a walk walk.
 I have that appointment with the Neurologist this morning at 830am est. For those of you that know me a long time, I will NOT be seeing Dr. Wet Noodle. He is not in the office anymore. There is a really really good Dr. in there now. He is one of the best in the area. They (and I) did not know if I should see HIM or go back to my Neurosurgeon because of my foot issues and my balance issues. They are going to look at me and then determine if this is something my surgeon should deal with.
Short Story..Dr. Wet Noodle was a young neurologist (the only one in that office!) that had that limp, cold, wet noodly handshake. He would not look you in the eye. The kind of person you want to slap back to reality. Come on dude! He told me that all my problems were not neurological. That maybe I needed to go back to my GP or go to a circulatory Dr. WTF! All I wanted was to get to go see the Neurosurgeon but you needed a referral to get in. Wet Noodle wouldn't do it!  My GP is best buds with THE surgeon that I wanted. Guess what? Two herniated discs and one was pressing really badly. That is why my foot would curl around the brake pedal, Asshole!! Now when I go in the office, I just tell them that I used to see Elijah. hehehe I do not even use his last name or Dr. This neurologist is going to see that I was not fibbing. He better not start on my fatness either. I hate when they blame EVERYTHING on your weight. I am trying to lose weight. Many people know this for a fact. I have had some obstacles thrown in my path but I am still doing it.
Fred might go with me to be my advocate. You need a fatty advocate when people do not believe that you have been doing what you say you have. Wow, that was a long sentence! LOL
So I will let you all know what he says. Hopefully it is nothing. Just a blip on the screen.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Christmas is coming.

*282*
11 more days till Christmas. I am done shopping. I am still making the bon bons but I mailed out the last two packages today. Yay! 

The scale has been going down down down. I have some great news to report! My foot is feeling great lately. I went and bought a new pair of slippers for around the house. These slippers have an arch. No mega pain at night anymore. I have not had to take any Advils. Yippee!
I am dealing with an issue with my right foot and it is kind of freaking me out. I have been squeezed in to see the Neurologist the week after Christmas. When I walk up stairs lately, my right foot/heel will make it feel like the ground beneath me is moving. Not my left foot at all. Just the right. It happened very infrequently for me to think anything of it at first. I figured it was part of my numb foot from the back surgery. Now it is happening more frequently but not all the time that I walk up the stairs. I want to get checked out just to be safe. Because a couple times I felt like if I did not have the railing, I would have fallen backward on the steps..and this is from the top of the staircase. It is not my head so it is not vertigo. It is my foot. So I will keep you all informed on that...
Chelsea has been cooking me up this healthy smoothie to help with my sick gut and headaches (i have a virus). It is THE nastiest thing on the face of this earth..Ugh. It is army green in color and contains raw garlic and raw ginger..among other things. I had to choke that shit down. Blech!
But...a few hours of burping and repeating later and my stomach felt good. Really good. So she is supposed to make me another glass of it today. We will see how it goes.
It is as cold as hell out there today. Not as cold as the Midwest but it is still cold. I am going to need some better gloves if I want to walk outside. And I am going to be walking outside now that my feet are better. I cannot wait! I loved those long walks at a brisk pace..the cold air biting your cheeks, you can see your breath as you huff huff huff along your trail. It is the best. I am not saying that as bullshit. I loved it and I miss it. Walking on the treadmill is NOT the same thing. I like bitching to Fred as I force my fat ass up that hill..Motherfucker!!! I can do it!!!!
 I think I might do it tomorrow but I have to see. I still have a few more tins of chocolates to make and I want to get that DONE first before I start moving on to something else.

I will post pics on whether I have or not.