*230-something* <---i have not stepped on a scale in a week or two so I really do not know.
We survived the Bombogenesis. Our little neck of CT received a generously heaping spoonful of snow. It was about a foot with nice snow drifts. The temps have been rock bottom too. Not been fun for my skin, I can tell you right now. I have been coconut oiling myself every day to combat the psoriasis and the old lady crepe from the heat being on constantly. Today is going to be in the 30s and by the middle of the week it will be close to 50. Be gone you evil snow.
Today I have stuffs to do but I feel a little shitty so I will be going slowly while doing them. I think my head is a little fucked because of the barometer and we are supposed to get a little snow this evening. So if I can get out of my pjs, that will be a major accomplishment. One of the things we have to do today is our DNA. Hubs and I have two 23andme DNA kits aka the government has got your ass now kits. You have to not drink or eat anything for 30 minutes and then you spit in the tube and send them off. We get to see where we came from. I have always known that I am Polish, Italian, Swedish, and Norwegian. Now could my Polish grandmother have had some Jewish ancestry that we do not know about? I guess I will find that out in a few weeks. The girls at first were a little miffed because they did not get kits. Why should you both get kits when you have the same DNA? We, as your parents, can do it and you will get the same answer. *eye roll* I will share those results when they come in.
My lofty plans of walking have been curtailed by the weather. My plan is to get out there tomorrow morning if it is not icy from the storm and I feel okay in the head. I have been fairly active the past few months so it isnt that I have to start slow or anything. I just did not want to freeze my tookas off. See, I could go to the Mall to walk but then I end up shopping instead. I could get a gym membership but you all remember how I paid for two years and never went once. Walking the hills of my neighborhood is the safer bet for me. My house is way too small for any exercise equipment. We tried when we bought a cheapo elliptical at Salvation Army. It worked great and it was a folding one. That shit sat in the corner. Got unfolded a couple times. Sat next to the tv set, mocking me because I never used it or even dusted it. I have a couple walking routes that I have used in the past. I just have to get dressed and do it.
Yo. The pressure cooker is the best thing ever. Myself and #2 have made about 6-7 meals in it so far since Christmas. I went out to Target and bought a rack to put it on. It has it`s own area by the kitchen window with it`s own plug. No need to move it off and on the counters. We have very limited counter space. We have a galley kitchen. Only room for 1-2 butts at a time. Anyway...the pressure cooker is really good. I made fork tender pulled pork in 1 hour and 30 minutes. What! And it tasted like it was cooking for hours. We cooked chili, a few soups, pulled pork, a chicken dish, hamburger dish, and all were good. You can find many recipes online for using the electric pressure cooker. I still say, if you do not have one..beg borrow or plead to get one.
I had a revelation last week after posting here. I am not doing AIP and Keto. When I try to eat that way, I do not eat at all. I practically starving and I am not being literal. It is so hard to keep your blood sugars low but also stick to the strict Auto immune way of eating. You just cannot do it. Unless you have unlimited grocery resources and/or you have someone to cook for you. I just couldnt do it. I have decided and started to eat keto but I am not going to eat certain foods like nuts and peanuts. I will eliminate all nightshades except tomatoes because they are life. And I am going to eat limited dairy. Sometimes I need it in a pinch if I am hungry but I will not seek it out and especially in large amounts. Back on track. Keto for me is the smart solution to alot of my medical problems.
I had a birthday. Saturday I turned 49 years old. It was a good day. Of course it was not keto complaint but that was my last food thing until October comes around again. Hoping I am thin as a reed and have a stronger constitution by the time it is Halloween. We have a couple more birthdays coming up but I can say no to cake. I had my slice...okay two slices. It was Red Velvet and I was not gonna say no. Someone that is way young was shocked when he saw my FB post about turning 49. He said WTF! I thought you were 32!
He either does not know how to determine someones age or he needs a new eyeglass prescription. But I will take the compliment as the best present ever.
Okay. I need to get going. I have to be a taxi today and I have to get out of this feeling like crap mode. I hope you have a wonderful week and I will see you on the next.
Showing posts with label Bombogenesis. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Bombogenesis. Show all posts
Monday, January 8, 2018
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
This bitch needs a coffee!
![]() |
| Perfectly coiffed while doing their chores. |
*249*
No gym for me today. I had a nice all day kind of work out. I do not know how much snow we got but it was fucking cold out there. I actually had to come inside and add another shirt under my fleece.
I personally shoveled the back patio, porch, steps, walkway, steps, around both cars, and brushed them both off while they warmed. Then I drove across the bridge for an errand. Took the kid to a Dr appointment, pharmacy, gas for Jeepo, made my lunch, cleaned cleaned cleaned, and I just threw a whole chicken in the oven. I had said that I was going to section it and make oven fried chicken but I was not in any mood to mess with that shit. Phew!
Of course everyone was sleeping. They did not hear me stomping around in my work boots at all. You can never awaken someone from a fake sleep. I know that is right. Eh! I burned some calories and gained some muscle. But I am rightfully tired and could really use a nap. That wont happen. The chicken has to be turned in an hour (2 hours 20 min to cook) and I have to peel potatoes. Oh the life I lead. So glamorous. So fucking boring. I am surprised any of you follow me at all.
What is Heidi up to today? A biopsy? Or attempt to make creme brulee?
I feel good up stairs in my head. I am good spirits. The CPAP is finally given me a bit more energy. But my gut is just not right. I hope hope hope it is not something sucky. I did talk to my Liver Sister today and she assured me that a liver biopsy does not hurt. They numb you up nicely and you just feel a pinch. I was worried about that. But that could be the next thing on my journey.
So yeah..that is all for today. Snow snow snow and it is oh so fucking cold. Gonna try not to fall asleep by going in the kitchen and brewing some coffee.
Labels:
Bombogenesis,
Coffee,
Fatty Liver,
Snow
Tuesday, January 21, 2014
Another Bombogenesis for us
*249*
I was looking for a vintage winter picture for today and I saw this. It just had to be posted. It is a Mcall`s knit Winter sweater dress. Ooo! La La!
It is snowing today and through tonight into tomorrow. Here in my area we are predicted to get 12 inches plus. Hubs had to go into work. Thank goodness for the 4 wheel drive. He made it there safe and I will pray he makes it home safe. I will post some pics if it is a mountain of snow. So in the meantime I will share one thing I did this afternoon:
Yeah. Those are toll house cookies. I ate two. It is cold out. I have been good. And they smelled really good! Needed a reason to keep the oven on.
I am gonna go upstairs to relax and hope all my nears and dears are safe tonight.
I was looking for a vintage winter picture for today and I saw this. It just had to be posted. It is a Mcall`s knit Winter sweater dress. Ooo! La La!
It is snowing today and through tonight into tomorrow. Here in my area we are predicted to get 12 inches plus. Hubs had to go into work. Thank goodness for the 4 wheel drive. He made it there safe and I will pray he makes it home safe. I will post some pics if it is a mountain of snow. So in the meantime I will share one thing I did this afternoon:
Yeah. Those are toll house cookies. I ate two. It is cold out. I have been good. And they smelled really good! Needed a reason to keep the oven on.
I am gonna go upstairs to relax and hope all my nears and dears are safe tonight.
Labels:
Bombogenesis,
Snow,
Tollhouse Cookies
Thursday, February 7, 2013
It`s a BLEE-zard!!
I am sitting here in my comfy clothes. Those consist of sweats, an old Old Navy t-shirt, and my favorite house only cardigan sweater. No constraining qualities at all in this ensemble at all. We are all set for the blizzard. It is weird to look out in the yard and see no snow on the ground. It melts away as soon as it gets here. This snow is going to stay for awhile.
I live near the border of CT and RI. Now this map is old already, I bet. It was saying that we on the coast would get 6-12 inches. Now they think it will be more 15-20 inches. If we get extra sleet/rain, then it will be 15..if not then we will get a buttload. I just looked and the watch has been upgraded to a warning. FUN FUN FUN!!
About 2 years ago, we had a really snowy winter. It just kept coming and then in February we got a bombogenesis. It is like the storm let off a bomb over your area. Worse than a blizzard. That was about a foot or more of snow. I think the rain and sleet will cut it down to about a foot or a foot and a half. Fred and I can handle it. We have special shovels. We discussed last night that we are going to help our neighbor across the street. He is almost 60 years old and lives with his wife, his 30ish daughter and son in law, and two teenage grands (girl and a boy). Not one of them helps him shovel or do any work around the house. This time it will be different. We are going to help because we feel it is just not right.
So Heidi is gonna protein up. I have some left over cold meat balls from early this week. They are mini in sauce. Gonna eat them up because I will need it for tomorrow and Saturday.
If you are in the path of the storm, please be safe. And throw a snowball!
Labels:
blizzard,
Bombogenesis,
Snow
Thursday, January 13, 2011
We shoveled...too damn much!
| Fred navigating the snow |
I have heard varying degrees of what the snow totals for my city were but a couple official ones said we received 13 inches of snow. It was NOT a blizzard, it was a weather phenomenon called a bombogenesis. A bombogenesis is a rapid drop in atmospheric pressure - 24 millibars or more - in 24 hours. Basically it is the reason we got a TON of snow in such a short period of time. My ass is sore from all the shoveling.
I stood next to this car (our car), with snow almost to my knees and I just was like What the fuck are we going to do?? There was so much of it that we did not know where to start. We could not find our second shovel, so we tag teamed. We went back and forth taking breaks. It took us two hours to dig out the car, the garbage can, the walk area (we do not have sidewalks on our street), and the walkway and front steps..oh plus the front porch. Then I went inside, made chili, and we took a nap! LOL
This is the front walkway after he was finished. The snow was really high on both sides.
This is our side yard. That is a garden bench over there. The wall is completely covered. The dogs will be pissing on newspaper for a few days until I get the back patio shoveled out.
That is our next door neighbor`s pine tree bowing to the weight of the heavy snow. This young guy had his closing on Tuesday (he just bought that house), and the storm came on Wednesday. We introduced ourselves to him. He is going to gut the whole house. He needed help getting his car out of the snow later on.
I know there is going to be more snow but I HOPE that Mother Nature gives us at least a week break. I mean the weather people in our state says we just got all of our winter storm for the year in that one storm!
Spring! Where forth are you Spring?
Labels:
Bombogenesis,
January 2011
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)





