Showing posts with label Periodontal. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Periodontal. Show all posts

Monday, June 5, 2017

No Spend June Week 1

Hot Flashes SUCK!

*233*

  I am warning myself and anyone that is reading. I have to leave here to take Kid #1 someplace so this post can be really good and at some point it drops off a cliff. If I stay here and write, I can keep my train of thought. If I have to leave and come back hours later and I do not have any notes as to what I wanted to talk about, this post get real boring, really quick. With that being said, I will tell you how my past week has gone.

   We will start off with the spending. I did cave a little bit. Someone gave us a never used fire pit. Oh bestill my beating heart. I have always wanted one! We will use it up in the top yard. Anyway, I was at Walmart picking up cleaning stuff and a bit of groceries and Hubs NEEDED a pair of readers cause he finally decided to fess up. So everything on that day was within the bounds of need except for two tiki torches. Total for the two was a little over $8. They will keep us from being bitten when we are burning the woods. No excusing what I did but I said I would fess up. As for how I did this week, I did pretty good. I stuck to the plan. Since last week was a short one, I did not spend $150 on groceries. I spent 88.53 on groceries, that included those glasses, toiletries, dog and cat food. I paid all the allotted bills for this week. I did spend $50 for our portion for a cookout that is coming up next month. I could have said no, I cannot but that would have started a major shit so I decided to treat it like a bill just for this month.  I have been bringing water with me and I bring my coffee in metal coffee cuppy thing for the car. There will be no stops for nothing unless my blood sugar is tanking and I have stuff in my purse for that anyway.  So yes, I did not completely no spend this week. I am hoping this week will be much better.
  I am not much of a coupon person because I do not buy many processed foods. That is where most of the savings in coupons comes from. You never find a coupon for a gallon of milk. At least, I never have. I do not have the cognitive patience to hunt down, sort out, and use them. I will just try to shop less. Keep within the budget boundaries and see how I do this month.  I took out a ham for dinner. I read that you can cook it frozen. It will take 4 hours to cook but that is okay. It is only 1pm. That ham will give us a few meals this week. Pea soup included!
   Today was my last day of PT. We mutually decided that two months was good. It really isnt helping me so I have to follow up with my massage therapist. Soft tissue injuries can be a pain in the ass. I know that is true. I am tired of being in constant pain in my neck and head. If you had a daily headache, you would be in a pissy mood also. I sent message to the lawyers office and to my massage therapist. Once a week should be good to help out. I have a TENS unit here so I will use that and my traction. I will not let this get any worse if I can help it.

   I read an entire book this weekend. That hasnt happened in ages. The book is called Wheat Belly. It talks about how the wheat and grains we eat today are nothing genetically like the wheat and grains our grandparents ate. Wheat is the reason many of us are sick. I knew this already but I needed a refresher. It is basically talking about keto without actually saying keto. It is not a keto book. It is a really good book that will open your eyes. If you can get a copy, give it a gander. My next book is about sugar addiction. I cannot remember what it is called. Let me find the picture.....

The Sugar Detox one. That is what I will read next. I read all about Perimenopause in the dummy book but I have to read the rest. The houseplant book will be a fun book to get different ideas on houseplants. Speaking of, I am going to repot my tall cactus today. Wish me luck. I do know how to handle them (use a newspaper lasso to hug around the plant for lifting). She is need of a bigger pot and fresh soil. I will do that after I drop the kid off. But these are the books I bought at the library book sale. I cannot believe I have gotten back into reading. It has been so hard the past few years to have some kind of cognitive skill to pay attention or have the want to read. I was a big time reader. BIG! I know that it could disappear again just as quickly as it came so I will enjoy it while it lasts.

  Hot flashes suck. I have been suffering so badly the past 10 days or so. All I have to do is bend over to pick up a fork and I break out in a flop sweat. We have been having a very cold Spring and still cool into the 2nd week of June. Part of me hopes it stays this way but we know that will not happen. Summer has to show up eventually. And I will have to find a block of ice to sit on.

   I am really tired of younger people acting like their auto immune issues are way more important then mine. It seems that age doesn't matter to some people. I can be over 20 years older then a person but supposedly their aches and pains are more significant. Because I know how to pace myself, I should be the one taking care of them. Even though I have alot of bad days, I am expected to forgo my own health plan to make sure others get what they need. I want to say bullshit really loudly. But I have been told that wouldnt be fair. I just sit and ignore the moans and groans. Most of the time, those noises are a signal for ME to do something. Nah! I had to say it! It has been bugging me lately and especially today.

 Oh...I got my mouth guard this week. Happy Day! It is used for people that grind their teeth at night. The grinding is really not good for the periodontal. I did have a guard that I bought at the pharmacy. It worked really well but they are only good for a few months. I hope to see some really good results with my teeth numbers when I go to get counted in July.  When you have periodontal disease, they count the spaces between your gums and your upper inside teeth. It is not a pleasant experience. It is looking for bone loss. Each tooth is given a number. The lower the number (0,1,2,3) the better. Upper numbers are bad. My back lower right molar aka problem child is a lost cause. It is at an 8 at this point. We keep it because it is still rooted in my mouth. You want to keep the teeth in your head as long as possible.

  That is about it for now. Send out positive thoughts to me this week. NO SPENDING! NO SPENDING! NO SPENDING! You can do it Heidi! We have faith in you!

Have a good week, all.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Teeth Scraping and a Change of Heart


*228*

OMG! Two posts in a row must be some kind of record!

  This morning at 8am, I had my tooth cleaning. It was agony and a blood bath as per usual. I also found out that my periodontal disease has gotten worse!  I had done so good last year with eating correctly and I had healed some of my gum/teeth issues. If you have periodontal disease, then you know what I mean. Lots of 4s and 5s in that count today. I am not a happy camper. I bit the bullet and purchased a Sonicare brush. It will help immensely with helping save my teeth. I am going to have either no dental or limited dental insurance for I dont know how long. This morning was the wake up call that I needed.

  Eat low carb high fat. Save your teeth and the bones that hold them in your face! Diabetes is a helluva drug, I tell you. I am also ruining my eyesight with the cataracts by not following this way of eating.  Seriously though, I have cried wolf on this before the last couple months. Waaa! I cannot stick to the lchf WOE. Waaa! I gained 8 lbs! Well, bitch, you are ruining yourself on the inside. You will look like a broke bitch with no teeth if you keep this shit up!


 I bought the pink one, of course. She cost me $150. I think I will pay the price to save my teeth from mass destruction. I will use her tonight after my gums heal from the catastrophe of this morning.  It is a Sonicare DiamondClean Professional Series. It has bells and whistles. I will use it and let you all know how it goes.

  Yeah, I think this morning was a revelation. She was counting my teeth and shooting out numbers for the assistant to write down. There were hardly any 1s 2s or 3s like 6 months ago. In 4 months, I am right back where I started with my teeth. Keeping the blood sugars in check are one of my major arsenals in living a relatively good life in one piece. With Periodontal Disease, you have bone loss under your teeth. That bone is what holds you teeth in your face. I do not have any wiggle but if you can wiggle your teeth, that is a bad sign. I have been wearing a night guard for about 2 years now. I used to have the kind the dentist makes for you, but Ruby got hold of it when she was a puppy. $200 down the drain. I was able to find a good one in the pharmacy. It is called Dentek mouth guards. I use the full guard for max protection. You use hot water to mold it. I have had this same one for over a year. Saves your teeth immensely.  I am a major grinder of my teeth. This stopped it cold. It does take a couple nights to get used to it, but once you have used it on a regular basis, you cannot sleep without it. There is no more tooth shift when you wake up on the morning.

  So.  I am most definitely back to eating Keto/banting/lchf. No more cheating. No more french fries cause they are only a potato. No more sugar. No more allowing myself to be lead to eat those things. I am done. My first goal is to get back down to 219. After I reach that goal, I will decide what else I am going to do.
Oh yeah. I forgot. I started this supplement by Now called Gymnena Sylvestre. It is used by diabetics to help with metabolism and keeping blood sugars in check. I was going to see if it works. People use it to block sugar but I doubt that actually works. I want to see if it helps with pancreas function. If it doesnt work for me, it is probably cause my pancreas cells are basically wiped out and I will be on the needle till I know longer walk this Earth. That sounded grim. Dont take it that way. That is the way I talk. I will discuss the supplement at a later time. I started it this week so too early to tell.

   I got some Oracle cards this past weekend.  They are my first set. They called to me actually. I went into the local shop to see if they had any bronzite (nobody does!), and I poked around and this one caught my eye. It is very accurate with me so I guess we chose each other well. I do not know if I am going to do this for anyone else, or just do it for me. I have to familiarize myself with how to read cards and the spread. I like doing it for myself because it helps give me some guidance in really big things I have to think about. I purchased well.

  After that scraping and my big breakfast/lunch, I am definitely ready for a nap of some type. I woke up super early and it is just gloomy outside. I have some major cleaning to do but I think I will rest up first before I do that.
Have a good rest of your week. Let`s hope for NO SNOW!

 

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Tooth Fairy needed

*268*

I noticed it was a bit sore yesterday afternoon. It is that back molar again. I do not know if you remember but when I first quit smoking, my tooth problems began. Periodontal disease. Anyway, the back molar on the right gave me some super assed pain because of infection. They were able to clean it and get it all better that day.
It hurts. Not as much as before but enough for me to know that I need to do something about it. A friend told me about something called Peroxyl by Colgate but my ass is broke until Monday when Fred gets paid. She says it is a oral rinse that I can swish and it will help clear out the pocket. Yes, we have pockets under each tooth. If you do not brush and floss on a regular, you COULD get crap in them and then you have periodontal disease. So brush your damn teeth!!

 I am going to make soup today because I doubt very much that I will be able to chew anything. I swished with warm water and salt plus took half a Vicodin. I am good for now. I can still feel it but it is not pulsating. I have all the ingredients for Cheeseburger soup too. Goody! I love that soup.
I was going to write an article and then do some work outside but that isnt going to happen now. Today is going to be a very lazy day while I wait for Monday to come.

I tell you what though, If I cracked it or something of that nature where it needs root canal..I will tell them to just fucking pull it. I am done with this tooth. It is a pain in the ass anyway.

Monday, August 1, 2011

Saga of the teeth





*271* <---that is what it will be till I get a new scale!

I went to the Periodonist this morning for a check up on my surgery progress. It is looking really good he says. The loose back molar is normal for me now. It is because I had some bone loss. It wont fall out. I just do not have enough bone to hold it completely straight. Some days it is loose, others it is not.
The other side on the bottom is another fucking story. I have to have the surgery on that bottom left side. He said that in 3 months it went that badly. But here is the kicker. I cannot have it done...yet. It costs $1800 per quad. My dental insurance is exhausted from the last one and I am paying off the balance now. I will not get new insurance until October or January..(i have to call). Then I want Chelsea and Fred to go in for their cleanings FIRST.
Then I will go have the bottom..unless it get so badly that he has to finagle something. We shall see. I thought I cracked a molar because it started to hurt off and on when I ate. Nope, it needs to have the flap procedure done.
I guess I will lose another 10 lbs with that one. That is one plus. I cannot eat so I lose weight.

Okay...I am going to relax for now and then I have the kitchen to clean. I did make a small batch of tomatillo sauce yesterday and it came out really nice.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Cleaning my Teef!

 
Ghost Teeth by Tiffany Liu
*278*

Tomorrow I am getting a flap procedure done with my gums.  My appointment is at 10am. I have been cleaning most of the day because that is what I do when I am nervous. Fred put the big air conditioner in the living room window so I will be comfortable tomorrow...going to be in the 90s for the rest of the week.
I found out my aftercare list by myself. I called the office this morning to see if they would give me a heads up and they did not want to tell me. I just wanted to know if I needed to be on any special food diet or if they were going to give me pain meds or not. Geez!

Flap procedure aftercare consists of not eating four hours afterward and then only eating soft or liquid foods for 2-3 (3-4) days. I saw three websites that told me different times. No soda, no straws, no carbonated drinks. Nothing too hot or too cold. Nothing crunchy at all. Then there is the issue of pain meds and bleeding. I cannot swish or spit. I have to let the stuff dribble out of my mouth. Attractive!
I have to sleep with a few cushions under my head so that the bleeding can heal quicker. It is a clusterfuck, I tell you!
So tonight I am eating Chinese food. I have not had really bad for you chinese food in quite awhile. I am not listening to Chelsea. She will try to get me to change my mind and get Thai (which I cannot afford) because she doesn't want Chinese. Guess what chicky? It aint always about YOU! I want shrimp toast and egg foo young. Yummy!

I may or may not be on the computer tomorrow. It matters on how badly this shit hurts afterward and if my daughters will care for me while Fred is at work. I may send out a S.O.S. beacon on Facebook.

Wish me luck! Hopefully it will work and my teeth wont be all jacked up afterward